Pluto home server does it all

June 5, 2007 § Leave a comment

Pluto logoThere’s been a lot of Buzz lately on the LMCE (Linux Media Center) and as I am very interested in such home appliance (see my other articles on the issue here and here) I did some research and found out that the LMCE, which is an application that installs ontop of Ubuntu linux (for now) and wraps itself around different open-source projects to offer a complete media center solution, uses Pluto as it’s ground. Actually all these technologies alltogether form the LMCE.

But what is Pluto? Accordingly to their website :

Pluto is the only all-in-one solution for your home that seamlessly combines media & entertainment, home automation, security, telecom and computing.
You can control your whole house with a mobile phone, a touch-screen tablet or a web-interface. A Pluto system is like an appliance – not a computer. It is self-configuring, maintaining and updating. No technical skills are required to use or install Pluto.
Pluto is above all simple. The devices are all plug and play. Pluto is also an open platform, offering unlimited expansion potential, and requiring no special cabling.
This is Pluto: a complete, comfortable and secure solution for your home.

You can see a Flash presentation of Pluto by clicking on the image below:

Pluto Presentation

I have watched with great interest the presentation and noticed some things I don’t like about the solution. Perhaps I am wrong but I would like to use perhaps a laptop I have as the source of some media I want to play or a movie I have stored on it. Or perhaps I want to watch some clips I’ve recorded with my phone, which is bluetooth capable and I am using it as a remote. What if I want to see what’s on my children’s computer screen in their room? Is there any way to do this with the current solution?

Perhaps this is where LMCE comes in place. As long as the core of Pluto is a server that can have many application installed, the LMCE creators have bundled MythTV, a DHCP server to be able to access storage over the home LAN and so on. But about Linux MCE I will write another article.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pluto home server does it all at perfect cube.

meta

