Fiber Optic textiles: disco freaks’ heaven on earth

March 27, 2007 § 2 Comments

fiber optic embedded in textile heart-shaped pillowGetting out of the crowd has been the dream of any adolescent since the beginning of this world, might it have been for impressing the opposite sex or for intimidating rivals. Nowdays this basic instinct can be taken to the next level. What you have seen in sci-fi movies has come true. LumiGram has found a way to woven fiber optic alongside synthetic fibers getting a luminous textile that looks stunning.

Unlike other light sources like Neon or LED, the light coming from the Luminous Fabric is subtle and mysterious, allowing to create amazing, stylish and wonderfully original clothes and fashion accessories.
As for our decoration items, they use the luminous fabric for creating a very unique and dazzling atmosphere. (source)

As for myself, as I go less and less to disco-clubs (shame on me!) I would like to see those textiles perhaps on my carpet, so that when I wake up in the night to see where I should step, or have a luminous landscape on my curtains ( imagine that: the whole curtain to be illuminated by a single LED – depending on the technology they use).

I am sure all of you can find some ingenious ways of using this fiber optic technology somewhere, I invite you to make a comment and let your imagination fly. I am curious of what ideea you might end up with. I will take the one I like best and describe it in a new post (if any comment:P).

Here you can take a glimpse at some nice ways of using the technology in textiles:

LumiGram fiber optic women cloth

LumiGram fiber optic house mood

LumiGram fiber optic enriched cushion

LumiGram fiber optic enriched cushion with landscape model

§ 2 Responses to Fiber Optic textiles: disco freaks’ heaven on earth

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fiber Optic textiles: disco freaks’ heaven on earth at perfect cube.

meta

