drawing software that gets your job done

February 16, 2007 § Leave a comment

Usually we use software to solve real life problems. When we plan anything it’s best to be able to visualize it before really do it as this spares you of the frustration of changing your mind or getting things wrong because the model in your head wasn’t that clear as the 3D piece on the computer screen.

I am myself driven by “the best performance for the price” way of living and if it’s free and good that’s even better. That’s why I love open-source when it comes of computers. That’s why ‘ve choosen WordPress CMS for my blog here. That’s why I use Linux as much as possible to solve my problems. That’s why when it comes of making drawings I usually rely on tools like Gimp, Inkscape and Blender3D.

Last night I found the resources to take a better look at Google’s SketchUp as I was courious about it for some time but never looked at it closely. I’ve watched a few video tutorials and I was pleased to see how easy it is to build architecture and interior design. I don’t know how easy it is to build more complex organic shapes but i’ve seen on SketchUp Warehouse page a few objects that are pretty complicated in shapes like cars, electric guitars and so on. And the architectural ease of sketching is stunning. The controls and tools are easy to work with and there is a measurement tool which I so much lacked in Blender3D.

The fact that I am really pleased is that one could really build a scene without working with light settings and materials and it looks ok as a skech. In Blender it isn’t that easier to get it. So when I need quickly a sketch I can always draw it in SketchUp and then export it to some format Blender3D will let me import and then I can work to the delicate part of modeling organic objects and whatso ever.

It’s a pity it’s not open-source. I don’t even know if it can work under Linux, perhaps with Wine…

So one more nice freeware that’s good to have it around and that can fasten our ideas sketching, that’s used in professional offices around the world (the PRO version) and that’s a time-saving which is ultimately our goal for everything.

Here you are a link to some tutorials that I’ve found stunning:

Google SketchUp tutorials

From my point of view, Google SketchUp is Up to it’s hype in modeling and speed a sketch.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading drawing software that gets your job done at perfect cube.

meta

